Exodus 34:29 
"When Moses came down from Mount Sinai, with two tablets of the testimony in his hand as he came down from the mountain, Moses did not know that the skin of his face shone because he had been talking with God." 

At this point in Exodus, Moses had come down with the 10 commandments and found the golden calf and through the tablets to the ground from the anger that the people would turn away from God when he was gone. God sent Moses back up to Mount Sinai to get two new tablets. This verse takes place when Moses had reached the bottom of the mount the second time. 

When I read this verse my imagination tries to imagine what Moses looked like when he came down the mountain. It says that he did not know he was shining so it's not like a brilliant light was radiating from him lighting up the area around him. It reminds me of the time in spent in Guatemala during training. There were two specific times I remember my friend Rachel coming up to me and asking is I had just had an amazing moment with God. Both times I had just got finished talking with God and had an amazing peace come over me from what he had showed me during my quiet time. When I would respond yes, she would say, I can tell, you are glowing. I am sure the glow on my face was nothing compared to the glow coming from Moses but what does that glow look like? 

2 Corinthians 3:7 says, "Now if the ministry of death, carved in letters on stone, came with such glory that the Israelites could not gaze at Moses' face because of its glory, which was being brought to an end" even in the New Testament you can read as to what extent Moses was shining. He was so close to God during his time on the mountain that the Israelites could not even look at him. Wow, to be in such a close fellowship with God! 

What does my fellowship with God look like? Does it resemble that of Moses that I am filled with the Spirit and shining the light of Jesus everyday? I have found how easy it is to chat with God but not fellowship with him. It's the difference between having a meaningful talk with a fiend and small talk about random things that leave no impact. When I spend time in prayer do I allow the Lord to talk to me or do I do all the talking? Do I leave enough time and focus enough on him for him to challenge me, comfort me, direct me? All these questions I challenge you to as well. What does your quiet time look like? Do you desire to be filled with the Spirit and shine the light of Christ everyday you go that day? 




Leave a Reply.