Proverbs 8:10
"Take my instruction instead of silver, and knowledge rather than choice gold" 

Proverbs 8:14
"I have counsel and sound wisdom; I have insight; I have strength."

I read these verses this morning and immediately felt the need to reread them. God gives us so much direction I the Bible and he has been showing me more and more about the choices I should make as a believer, and the way I should respond in different situations. God is revealing these instructions to me and now I have a responsibility to act on the instruction that he gives me. Proverbs 8:10 says take my instruction instead of silver and knowledge rather than choice gold. The word choice makes me think of having options. I am hoping to return to university when I get home to finish my degree in education. The Lord placed this on my heart and immediately my thoughts went to money. I argued with him telling him that I cannot afford it and that I will have no time to earn money. I tried to tell him I should just get a full time job and work so I could have money. Even though it sounds more desirable to get a full time job and be earning money instead of spending money,he told me what steps he wanted me to take and that was to look into schools to study at. I could choose my way and in the end have my "choice gold" or I can trust God and follow his guiding in my life and allow him to provide for my needs during my time in school. 

Verse 14 brought more understanding of why God calls us to follow his instructions and to listen to his words and his truth. Verse 14 makes following the instructions of the Lord make sense. God has counsel, wisdom, insight, and strength. God can see what I cannot. God sees the big picture and knows what is best for each of us. All through the New Testament you see him instruction us. Some that come to mind immediately are put on the armor of God, pray without ceasing, don't throw pearls to pigs, and he even gives us instructions for the church and so much more. God gets it! He understands so why do we try to reject his plans? Why do we try to do things our way? God's way is the best. A pastor said, "trust God, he knows why he is doing it" whatever it may be for you, trust God. I know what my "it" is and I know what God's instructions are and I know that he has wisdom, insight, and strength and that his best for my life is to following his instructions. I like to tell God I can't do it when he instructs me to do something that is stretching. Another pastor said, "Give up! Tell God you can't do it but you know he can". Often times what he calls us to we can't do on our own strength but we try to. Remember he is strength. All we need to ask him to help us do what he has instructed us to do. 




Leave a Reply.