Isaiah 55:1
"Come, everyone who thirsts, come to the waters; and he who has no money, come, buy wine and milk without money and without price." 

Everyone loves free things and receiving gifts. One of the best deals is buy one get one free. You are given a gift for buying a product. But this gift is only for those who can afford to buy the product in the first place. In this verse we are told to "come". Karibuni or welcome, everyone is invited. It doesn't say certain people come but it's rather like a sign that is hanging on a public board that says come to the park for a concert on a certain night. In the King James Version, it starts this verse out with "Ho!". This word was used to get the attention of the public when an important announcement was about to be made. Everyone's attention might have been grabbed but that does not mean they took what the prophet Isaiah had to say seriously. Every word from God should be taken seriously and we should act upon them yet people remain blind to the truth in them. 

The verse says everyone who is thirsty should come. Are you thirsty? I mean, everyone gets physically thirsty, but what about spiritually? God has something that can satisfy your deepest need, your need for a Savior. Oh you have no money? That's okay! God's gift is free! In this verse we see that God says specifically that those with no money can come and buy. How is this possible? God gave us all the free gift of his son Jesus who died so we can live. How great is that! It doesn't matter if your the poorest person in town or the richest because it doesn't cost any money to receive the free gift of salvation. We must be willing to die to our flesh so that Christ may live in us but faith in the Son of God is all you need and you shall be saved. 

Nothing in this world is free any more and typically if something is advertised to be free people jump at the chance to get that free product or food. Salvation is free yet people seem to be walking away from that offer. Why? Why do so many people have a great desire for free stuff but when the most lasting, permeant thing is free it is ignored and rejected? Salvation is free because Jesus willingly paid the debt that each of us owe, but when you believe in the name of Jesus, you have to lay some other things down. 

With Christ comes freedom; freedom from your past and freedom from the sin that satan tries to hold each of us in bondage to. With Christ comes leaving behind some of the things you use to do or some of the people you use to hang out with. With Christ comes a new life, a fresh start and we all have the opportunity to have it. I remember when I first started walking with the Lord, it was hard to leave behind the life I had lived before. It was hard to get Satan's voices out of my head telling me that I'm too messed up to be loved by God or anyone for that matter. Satan left me feeling low and in need and time and time again Jesus would be there telling me he could satisfy me and he always would. I remember receiving the freedom Christ desired for me to live in, when I finally laid down my past and allowed it to be my past not my future. I remember how freeing it was and how much joy I then had within me. I have to say, leaving behind my past and some friends was hard and following God's voice and leaving my family and comfort in PA was hard but God has been with me the whole time and the freedom, healing, and growth I have experienced since I choose to take a sip of the free water God has to offer has been the best gift I have ever received. 

In John, We read the story of Jesus meeting the Samaritan woman at the well and offering her living water. We also read in John about Jesus being the bread of life. The two things that man needs to live, Jesus has to offer and we don't have to pay a single penny for it! Reading this passage in Isaiah was such a great reminder to me about the gift that God has given me and how blessed I am to serve such a great God that he would pay my debt for me so that I may live forever for free. Have you taken advantage of the free gift God has to offer you? If you have, do you thank God for it daily? Everyday I am given the gift of life and yet it is so easy to just live and not thank the one who has given that gift to me. Before I go to bed tonight and first thing in the morning I will thank God for the life he has given me both today and for eternity. 






Leave a Reply.