Times been flying by and our days have been busy and exhausting. I've been connecting more with the children here and learning more about their culture. I've been enjoying making ugali, chapati, and other Kenyan foods as we are taught by some of our friends here. I look forward to learning how to make different stews as well in the near future. I have also been trying to learn more of the Kiswahili language but that will definitely take a lot of time. As some of you probably know, the visa standards have changed during our first two months here and we could no longer simply get a second 3 month visa. Instead we had to apply to get a year visa which left it up to the government whether we would be able to finish our three months here. The Lord answered our prayers with a yes and we found out this past week that we were all approved! I am so thankful that I am able to finish out my 6 months here in Kenya since I have grown to love this land and the people here. I have been enjoying going to the Masai market and another market on our days off where we get to interact with the locals and bargaining with them as we tell them "mimi ni mkenya" wanting the local prizes not the wazungu prizes. All our days are filled with laughter both at home and during ministry. 

The children are really getting close to my heart as I get to know them better. I love the jokes they make and the times they trick me. I love playing tag with them and hide and go seek. I love every moment I have with them. A couple of the middle aged boys I have gotten really close to are Eluid and eliazar. Both them are so knowledgeable and know a lot of stories from the Bible. I love getting to teach them every Saturday and then being able to talk to them more about the lesson afterwards. Often times at least one question comes from them about the lesson or something else from the Bible. 

I also have had the opportunity to get to know one of the teen girls really well recently. After a small group Bible study with a couple of the teen girls where I shared my testimony, she came to chat with me and ask me questions. I have always thought this young lady was beautiful but I am blessed to see more of the inward beauty through our friendship. I am going to miss her when she goes off to high school but with the time I have I want to get to know her more and more. God has already started a great work in her and, as it says in the Bible, I believe he will continue that work until the day of completion. 

I believe the same to be true with me. God took my life and flipped it upside down on me. The moment was then that I was physically too weak to stand up from the floor until I turned my eyes to Christ in full surrender. I had given my life to Christ before, but I was holding back. It took some pain and difficulty for me to give my everything to him but I did. Now I am in Kenya serving him and telling others of his great love. God has really been challenging me in my walk recently. It has been a huge temptation for me to get lazy and not spend time with God each morning like I should. When my relationship with Jesus is shallow, I find my life to be shallow. I was really challenged by the study of Romans 7 that we did this past week. The flesh is no different today then it was one I first got saved. It desires things of the world and wants to lead me to death. If I do not kill my flesh everyday then it will be alive and lead me to sin but if I invite the Holy Spirit in every day, he will be my helper to defeat the flesh as it begins to rise up in me. The only way this is possible it to spend quality time with God every morning. But what really convicted me was the question why just in the morning? We are meditate on his Word without ceasing. I remembered what my mother always said, "an idol mind is the devils workshop". How true I see this to be. When I am focused on the Lord and his Word, satan does not have as much room to attack. My desire now has become to open my Bible and to sit down in prayer and to just be alone with Jesus a couple times a day to be sure that mind is focused on him. 

I see evidence of the Lord at work in the hearts of the people in Rongai and I see work in my own heart that is taking place. The Lord desires a relationship with each of us, so what is keeping me from developing a strong intimate relationship with him? 

All for the Glory of God 




Leave a Reply.