Today was the beginning of my first time being away from home over the holidays. Today is a day set aside specifically for giving thanks so I thought about it and came to realize how much I have to be thankful for. I thought about the friend I have who told me about IGNITE and how he helped me through a difficult semester at school. I think about my family who pray for me and support me as I have been living in a different country. I am thankful for IGNITE and for the opportunity God has given me to be apart of class 5 and to serve him in this way. I reflect back and realize how much God has shown me and taught me over the past 5 months. God has been revealing things about me and the condition of my heart that I never allowed him to break me of before and I am so thankful that he is doing this work in me. One of the questions that was asked around the table today was what our favorite highlight from this past year was. I thought about it and did not think I would be able to chose just one but then God brought back to my memory August 22nd. On this day I fasted and prayed because I had junk from my past that I had not fully surrendered to Christ and it was keeping me enslaved to it. On this day I found freedom in Christ that I had been missing out on for too long. I am so thankful for that day and for the freedom that I have in Christ. I am thankful that Jesus paid the price for me so I can have freedom and enjoy living in it.

I am thankful for my family more then ever this year because I have experienced living without them. Even though it can be hard sometimes not seeing my family so long God has shown his faithfulness through it. As I'm here in Kenya, the interns and the host family have become like family to me. I can never replace my family but God has given me people in my life that care for me and that I care for. He has given people to me that remind me of different members of my family and that give me a glimpse of  home occasionally. I am thankful for my Kenyan brothers  and sisters who have truly welcomed me into their country and their town. I am thankful for all the children that I have gotten the privilege to get to know and spend time with. I am thankful for the laughter that my friends and family bring and for the opportunity to live in another culture and learn another language. I am thankful for the growth that I am experiencing here as I can already see how this time in Kenya is preparing me for life and not just missionary work. I am thankful for all God's promises and his never changing love me. What are you thankful for? It's a question that can be taken lightly or you can truly examine your heart and reflect over the past year and what God has done for you. Happy thanksgiving! 

All for the Glory of God 




Leave a Reply.