Picture
Last evening a short term mission team from a Calvary Chapel in New Jersey arrived and today was our first day serving with them. We had planned an outreach event and I was very excited as I anticipated the day. Late morning I went to a school to help with a few more things for  these children who just went back to school and needed uniforms and shoes. Then all of us divided into teams and went out about in Rongai doing some evangelism and inviting people to a service we had prepared. As my group went about, we walked the roads and My heart was heavy. We stopped and chatted to a few women having the opportunity to share with them about grace and also inviting them to hear more at the church and receive a free dinner as well. We came across drunk men who burdened my heart and more and more women who had no husband and one who we found out could not pay the school fees to put her children back in school this year. 

It was a beautiful day that started out giving me hope and encouraged me as I saw the joy on the children's faces who have finally started school again, but my heart very quickly became broken for the people of Rongai. 

Tonight the church was packed full of children and adults who came to hear about grace, the free gift from God. It brought so much joy to my heart to see the church full of Kenyans whom came to worship. My heart just became more and more burdened though as I realized the hopelessness so many people in Rongai live in. They don't know the truth about God. They don't know that salvation is free and that no good works would ever lead to salvation. 

So many children go hungry, so many children don't have a father, so many children can't afford an education, and so many people don't know  Christ. The question came to my mind "what can I do about it?" It feels so hopeless and never ending. The resources end but the needs do not. I wonder why it took me three months to come to a point of utter brokenness. I can love on these children and give them the love of Christ and hopefully watch the void that is present in their lives whether from no father, school, or maybe from abuse. Jesus is all I can give the people of Rongai and all they need but I desire to give them so much more. 

Pray for the people of Rongai and ask God to turn this place around so that it is a place that honors and glorifies him. Pray for the children who are in school but also for those that cannot go because of school fees. Pray for the fathers who have abandoned their family's and for wives who raise children as a single mom. Pray for the churches that they may preach the truth from God's word. Pray for the city and ask God to use this place in a mighty way. 

All for the Glory of God 





Leave a Reply.